THE HEALTHIEST VEGETABLE … ISNT KALE .. THANK F*ck

I’m not a member of the Kale Club

I always feel like I’m chewing on a Nappy when I eat it .. so rough .. so rigid … and so needy .. you basically need to massage it better than a 90 minute Swedish Remedial to make it somewhat supple… and agreeable .. which actually does sound a lot like myself , so despite being the human equivalent of KALE , I simply don’t get the hype .

image 2

I do appreciate it being the Gateway Vegetable (insert WEED joke here) for healthy living . but the same way a stoner can get locked into the monotony of lighting up daily “just cos” I think the other vegetables have been overlooked (this is not an incentive to try various drugs, this is just poor writing on my behalf… please stick to BUTTON mushrooms)

LUCKILY SOME SMARTIES TOOK THE TIME TO DO THE RESEARCH AND DISCOVER WHAT IS THE REAL SUPER FOOD VEGGIE ???

image

Jennifer Di Noia of William Paterson University, looked at 17 important nutrients naturally occuring in food (fiber, protein, potassium, Vitamin A, B12, D) and calculated how much of those nutrients were found in a 100-calorie serving. The results are interesting. Watercress ranks as the most nutrient-rich vegetable, while other leafy greens like chard, chicory and lettuce rank well. Turnips, sweet potatoes and grapefruits performed worse.

SEE FULL CHART BELOW :

Powerhouse-Fruits-and-Veggies (1)

SO the winner was WATERCRESS! who’d have thought .. being the cliche I am .. I naturally went out a purchased some .. and ate it stems and all .and then i found  A WHOLE FREAKIN’ SITE DEDICATED TO WATERCRESS!!!

NOTE : if you want to be super annoying you could pick the top ten and make a dish .. how Health-Food-Blogger Of you ..

http://watercress.co.uk

WATERBLESS .

watercress-and-you-chart

5 thoughts on “THE HEALTHIEST VEGETABLE … ISNT KALE .. THANK F*ck

  1. Cute post :-). Every time I massage my kale I think I’m doing the most ridiculous act on the planet, like why is this green having a better time than I am here? Alas I still love it but maybe there is some room for watercress in my green repertoire.

  2. Pingback: Does KALE fail? | GLAM

Leave a Reply

