BARREtoned … My Introduction To The Pretzel & The Shake

20130412_IMG_0169_JPW

BARREtoned Pilates

what the hell is barre workouts?

why is everyone going mental in NYC for them ? why do I  feel so uncool for not knowing ?

So I rocked up at my first BARREtoned Class in Notting Hill , thinking I was about to embark on an adult version of ballet class.. to which I have to admit  as a child I wore tap shoes in my first ballet classes and then cried refusing to take them off .. I was shy shut up .. I just wanted to be heard . tap a tap a tap a  …and then spent any following class running up the wall and locking my knees over the Barre to dangle upside down … my prima ballerina potential was pretty much ZERO

SO THIS WAS GOING TO BE EASY … NOTTTT

its a mix between Aerobics, Abs Class , Pilates and BootCamp ..and an all over body assault

I spent a vast majority of the class feeling “The Shake” something the instructors pride themselves in .. basically exhausting your muscles in certain positions than you begin to involuntarily shake .. so the whole class looks like a bunch of people convulsing from a weird exercise exorcism

Then they twisted me into a position called the “Pretzel”  which is exactly what it sounds like .. and then after all of that you had to thrust your leg on the Barre and stretch some frankly terrified thigh muscles ..

shake

by the time the class was over I felt relieved .. and slightly proud I had survived ..I interviewed the instructors after..

NOTE: MY ARMS ARE SHAKING HOLDING THE CAMERA … I BLAME THE “PRETZEL” POSITION ..

2 thoughts on “BARREtoned … My Introduction To The Pretzel & The Shake

Leave a Reply

